Edinburgh Christmas Market 2026: Dates, Location and Visitor Guide

Edinburgh Christmas Market runs from Saturday 14 November 2026 to Sunday 3 January 2027, with its main Traditional Christmas Market in East Princes Street Gardens. It is the longest of the UK’s big Christmas markets, running for seven weeks across the festive season.
The market is part of Edinburgh’s Christmas, the city’s winter festival, which also takes over West Princes Street Gardens and George Street with festive attractions.
| Market | Edinburgh Christmas Market |
| Dates | Saturday 14 November 2026 – Sunday 3 January 2027 |
| Opening hours | Not published on the official Edinburgh Christmas site — check edinburgh-christmas.com before you travel |
| Location | East Princes Street Gardens, Edinburgh (main Traditional Christmas Market; other festive areas in West Princes Street Gardens and George Street) |
| Entry price | Not stated on the official site — the site sells tickets only for rides and attractions |
The market
The main Traditional Christmas Market is in East Princes Street Gardens, in the centre of Edinburgh. Other festive areas spread across West Princes Street Gardens and George Street, so the market is part of a wider festival across the city centre rather than a single fenced site.
Attractions alongside the market
The official Edinburgh Christmas site lists three ticketed attractions with their own dates:
- Santa’s Stories — 20 November to 24 December 2026.
- Family Ice Experience — 21 November 2026 to 3 January 2027.
- La Clique Noël — 20 November 2026 to 3 January 2027.
The site also sells tickets for rides including the LNER Big Wheel and the Around the World Starflyer. These are ticketed attractions, separate from the market stalls.
Opening hours and entry
One thing to know before you plan a trip: the official Edinburgh Christmas site does not publish market opening hours, and it does not state a market entry price. The site sells tickets only for its rides and attractions. Check edinburgh-christmas.com before you travel for the latest hours and ticket information.
Tips for your visit
- The market runs for seven weeks, from 14 November 2026 to 3 January 2027 — the longest run of the UK’s big Christmas markets.
- The official site does not publish market opening hours, so check edinburgh-christmas.com before you travel.
- Tickets on the official site are for rides and attractions only — check the site for the latest entry information.
- The market’s main site is East Princes Street Gardens, with other festive areas in West Princes Street Gardens and George Street.
- Use only the official site, edinburgh-christmas.com — the old domain edinburghs-christmas.com is no longer the market’s site.
- Dates and hours can change at short notice, so check the official site before you travel.
Frequently asked questions
When is Edinburgh Christmas Market 2026?
Saturday 14 November 2026 to Sunday 3 January 2027.
Where is Edinburgh Christmas Market?
The main Traditional Christmas Market is in East Princes Street Gardens, Edinburgh, with other festive areas in West Princes Street Gardens and George Street.
What are the opening hours?
The official Edinburgh Christmas site does not publish market opening hours. Check edinburgh-christmas.com before you travel.
Is entry to Edinburgh Christmas Market free?
The official site does not state a market entry price. It sells tickets only for rides and attractions, such as the Big Wheel, the Starflyer, Santa’s Stories and the Family Ice Experience.
What else is on at Edinburgh’s Christmas?
Santa’s Stories (20 November–24 December 2026), the Family Ice Experience (21 November 2026–3 January 2027) and La Clique Noël (20 November 2026–3 January 2027), plus rides including the LNER Big Wheel.
Sources
- Official homepage (dates, location, attractions): https://edinburgh-christmas.com/edinburgh-christmas/george-street
- Official festival news (market dates): https://edwinterfest.com/edinburgh-christmas/news/la-clique-nol-is-back-in-town-this-christmas